Executive Committee

J.K. Curry, Ph.D.

JK CurryJ.K. Curry, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Theatre and Dance, regularly teaches courses in theatre history and dramatic literature. She is the author of Nineteenth-Century American Women Theatre Managers and John Guare: A Research and Production Sourcebook. She is the editor of Theatre Symposium, v. 18 “The Prop’s the Thing: Stage Properties Reconsidered” and v. 19 “Theatre and Film”. Dr. Curry has been a member of the Women’s Forum Executive Committee since the organization’s reincarnation in its present form in 2004. She has served as co-chair of the Work-Life Balance Task Force and formerly was the Reynolda campus co-director.

Wanda Balzano, Ph.D.

Wanda BalzanoWanda Balzano is the Director of Women’s and Gender Studies department at Wake Forest University. Her research and teaching interests include feminist critical theory; gender and religion in Irish literature and film; representations of women and men in comparative literature; and, cross-cultural intersections of women’s writing with Art, Folklore, Film, the Classics, Philosophy, and Religion. Dr. Balzano has been at Wake Forest since 2004, and a member of the Executive Committee since 2005. She believes Forum participation is important because “…change comes when you work towards it.”

Tracey Coan, J.D.

Tracey CoanTracey Coan is the Director, Academic Success Program, and Professor of Legal Analysis, Writing & Research at Wake Forest University School of Law. Her research interests include integrating traditional law school pedagogy with adult learning theory; empowering law students to become self-regulated learners; and developing self-evaluation tools for new law teachers. Prof. Coan teaches commercial law courses that are structured to reflect and advance these priorities. She joined the Wake Forest faculty in 2002, and has served on the Women’s Forum Executive Committee since 2012. Prof. Coan believes the Women’s Forum is important because it brings together women from multiple disciplines with varying perspectives to develop creative ways to improve the quality of life for all members of the Wake Forest community.

Molly Keener, M.L.I.S.

Molly KeenerMolly Keener is the Associate Librarian for Scholarly Communication at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University. Her teaching and research focus on the changing nature of scholarly publishing, the impacts of intellectual property law on scholarship, openness in research and education, and funding agency requirements for the distribution of taxpayer-funded research outputs. Ms. Keener has been with the University since 2006, serving her first three years as a reference librarian at the Coy C. Carpenter Library at the School of Medicine. She joined the Forum Executive Committee in March 2011 as the Leadership Task Force co-chair, and is now the Communication & Awareness Task Force co-chair in November 2012. Ms. Keener believes the Women’s Forum is vital to creating and sustaining a welcoming, inclusive community for all at Wake Forest.

Erin Sutfin, Ph.D.

Erin SutfinErin Sutfin is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Social Sciences & Health Policy at Wake Forest School of Medicine. She is a developmental psychologist and her research focuses on tobacco use, prevention, and cessation among adolescents and young adults. Dr. Sutfin has been on the faculty since 2007 and has been a member of the Women’s Forum Executive Committee since 2010. Participating in the Women’s Forum is important “…because I believe it is essential to recognize the significant contributions and also the needs of the many talented women faculty across the campuses.”

Barbara Walker

Barbara WalkerBarbara Walker is the Senior Associate Athletic Director with the added responsibilities of Senior Woman Administrator at Wake Forest University. Ms. Walker oversees the sports of men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, women’s basketball and men’s and women’s tennis, plus compliance, operations, sports medicine, and student-athlete services and the indoor tennis center. Ms. Walker served three years on the NCAA Women’s Soccer Committee, two of those years as Chair. She has also served on the NACDA Executive Board. She currently serves on the NCAA Honors Committee, the ACC SWA Committee, the ACC Women’s Basketball Committee, the ACC Equity Committee, and ACC Men’s Soccer Committee. She chairs the ACC Men’s Tennis and Women’s Soccer Committees. Ms. Walker joined the Women’s Forum Executive Committee in Fall, 2012.